Arizona Criminal Sentencing Guidelines
Misdemeanor conviction sentences are generally less severe than felony conviction sentences in Arizona. Below are the misdemeanor classifications and the potential terms of incarceration:
- Class 1 misdemeanor: 6 months
- Class 2 misdemeanor: 4 months
- Class 3 misdemeanor: 30 days
Community service, fines, and drug/alcohol screening and counseling can also be imposed upon conviction of a misdemeanor. The fine amounts and other requirements will depend upon the facts of the case and the defendant’s past criminal record.
Felony convictions, such as burglary, aggravated assault, and certain drug crimes carry more serious than sentences than misdemeanor sentences. Below are the felony classifications and presumptive sentences for felonies in Arizona:
- Class 1 felony: 25 years to life in prison (Arizona allows the death penalty in First Degree Murder cases)
- Class 2 felony: 5 years
- Class 3 felony: 3.5 years
- Class 4 felony: 2.5 years
- Class 5 felony: 1.5 years
- Class 6 felony: 1 year
These sentences can be more severe for defendants who have aggravating/mitigating circumstances. Below are the ranges of sentencing for felonies in Arizona.
|Class 2||3 years||4 years||5 years||10 years||12.5 years|
|Class 3||2 years||2.5 years||3.5 years||7 years||8.75 years|
|Class 4||1 year||1.5 years||2.5 years||3 years||3.75 years|
|Class 5||.5 years||.75 years||1.5 years||2 years||2.5 years|
|Class 6||.33 years||.5 years||1 year||1.5 years||2 years|
These sentences can be more severe for defendants who have a prior conviction on their criminal record.